top of page

Music Business

I started out producing and composing music for own personal interest, as a hobby. You can actually read a separate 'Music' blog post of this matter more on my old artist name 'ShadowRaz' blog update (Back to Roots tab here has link to the old home website FYI) with more details. But as i like producing music so much, and also am fond of staying at home, i wouldn't mind doing it for living. Well to be honest, i bet one third of people (wouldn't say this by knowing obviously but still a lot of people) in the world would like to just stay at home for living, not all though since some would get extremely bored. I would not as i am not now as i have been unemployed for some time. I just wish i had more money so that i could eat fancier, and buy some stuff i need and want, or even support family from home at some point when i could find love in the first place... not just living crap but also for producing and composing as in seriously upgrading my hardware and software. And now that i have practiced music some time, i think i have progressed a certain amount and wouldn't mind something back for the effort i put into some projects. But here is the problem, music business is really hardly possible to think as a way to earn living especially if it would be just focused on the music distribution a.k.a someone buying the music as digital copy or hell.. maybe as some sort of physical form like some people are fond of the vinyl records but i bet you would have to be filthy rich to make many copies of vinyl records of your music and then get some stores to sell them. I bet it is the feeling of having the actual product as a object, and then using it, not only the retro of vinyl or some say sound quality of them, like i for example like having my video games as discs with their disc box things with cover picture things you know instead of digital copies on hard-drive though have never gotten into the vinyl thing myself as i don't even have a player of such and ultimately don't want to start spending the small amounts of money i have for such, maybe someday later if i have a job or actually have earned from my music finally. So yeah if only focused on selling the music instead of doing some live gigs (which are pointless for electronic music producers/composers in my opinion as you can read on 'Music' blog post i mentioned, i would hate to do gigs/shows as i don't like being the center of attention especially for big crowds with my stage fright and self-loading and therefore being ashamed of myself in front of people but not too ashamed as i don't care that much (slightly for the sake of hygiene and being modest) but not much what others think of me still, i'm not a snob style person or that shallow) or selling some other physical goods like shirts or stuff like that. It is difficult, and not only because buying music is a dying business on the age of internet free streaming (youtube, soundcloud etc you know) and some services that cost monthly to listen more music that still pay not that much to the artists, but also because the age of DAWs has brought so many musicians more than even ever before, that it is hard to stand out at all from the millions of other musicians who are more talented on producing/composing music or otherwise are more skilled on advertising themselves somehow with their brand or some crap. So what to do huh? To get out there to raise peoples interest? I have no idea. I have tried to create all sorts of genre styles of music and hybrids of those, mostly for own interest but also to test out if other people would like my productions as such. No go so far. I have tried to create effect videos for Youtube, posting the tracks to also Bandcamp, Soundcloud hell i even was recommended a free distribution site that i tried to distribute my music to several other places. Nothing happened. So my productions were shittier back then.. but i wouldn't say they were bunch of noise either. I have tried Twitter mostly on social medias to post my stuff put slightly also Facebook when it was active still but did interest people. Making both home websites to create actual place that connects my accounts and can also kind of look more professional or at least cool as it can be modified rather nicely to look personal and "flashy". Not raising peoples interest almost at all either still. My current youtube channel with better productions in my opinion of my current skills has no subscribers and i get about 1 view per video, the remake got 30, and talking of that, i have tried also creating remakes/remixes rarely should someone find me through searching the original and being fascinated about my spin on them, though have done it for own fun and practice still mostly, and as i have tried to reverse-engineer or start creating own spin on some tracks. No go properly on old account or at all on new one but to be fair, so far these haven't been great at all. For me it is more fun and exciting to be fully creative than try to remix something on top of something that already exists, and trying to reverse-engineer some bit more complex tracks is difficult since you have to try to get it sound the same and can't be more free to get what you can and grinding some sound designs is frustrating, it is still good practice in my opinion though not innovative at all. Ugh. My motivation to put real effort into music has seriously decreased. The thing is, and this might sound quite cocky and rude (not intention obviously), that i find it really weird how some really simple tracks are so gosh darn popular even though are really easy to create. Some millionares or at least slightly wealthier people basically have tracks i could do in a hour with ease. Brand perhaps? As in making a name of themselves with advertising and stuffing it into others faces. Or i'm just being somehow bitter or having envy too much for being poor as fuck? I mean still as i tweeted recently, the every other day, i might find some artists that have really great tracks and my crap is shit compared to these, and still almost no support what-so-ever for them either though usually more at least followers since i too found them, often from a mix of someone elses channel on Youtube that i listen whilst doing some stuff like gaming or for example i am playing music mix right now as i'm writing this, and every once in a while some tracks stand out so much that i have to check out who made it and where do i find the person who made it and not the channel guy who added it to his mix of others tracks. This too has also popped to my mind. Now... I have started writing the copyright thing on my videos at the end, it just means that i have the copyright so that you cannot take my productions/compositions and claim them that you made them but it does not stop you from possibly adding my music to a mix, however it just means you should name the track and me as the artist on the mix. I wouldn't mind extra channels for people to find my stuff should someone even like it if they would hear it in the first place but it should be good so that someone would take it on their mix in the first place, as bigger channels are obviously very picky what they put up to maintain their popularity or some crap the hell if i know, but they still don't usually have lesser than normal sounding tracks if not exceptional in their midst. However, if the channel who re-posts my music would make money off from my crap even if naming me as the maker and not gaining just subscribers and popularity for their channel(s of other places as well) but i wouldn't, then it would also mean that i want some income from it too so i can support myself on the productions and seriously buy software and hardware. But all and all, the music should truly be good enough and i suspect i have not created such. However, as my motivation has decreased even though skills have increased (in my opinion), i haven't produced with full focus and intention to create something flawless, if i even have started to produce/compose at all anyway that much or uploading them. I could do requests for a price now, but no such thing is at sight from people as my popularity is zero. I don't want fame though from my music, but it might be necessity to be known for good productions so that people want to support you in the first place. So it is a bit of a loophole/paradox am i right? I would need support to become better and start being more active, but i need to be better to have support in the first place. As i also wrote on an old blog post, i wouldn't like being famous though since it not only attracts creepy people stalking in secret (that is unless i have such already which is fucking crazy if some mentally ill fucks would be constantly monitoring my activity anywhere even though have no intention to support me and bring me joy instead of what they would be doing which is torture, what is up with the staring for example?.. social anxiety or actually some truth at least in small amounts behind this odd feeling/instinct/paranoia), but also it creates this certain image i would have to live up to, as in not do any errors or create perfect productions or somehow be ultimately pleasing for others every time on basically everything from social media updates to everything and i couldn't be myself. But that is a snobby way to see it, if someone doesn't like you as you are, too bad for them and you don't need those fucks in your life. I would do what i want, but do also request if needed for something and do my best but not be some pretentious fuck or sellout. I don't live by much anyway so trying too much to get money isn't like main goal at all, like now after bills i get by with under hundred euros easily per month for food and living supplies though living is expensive in Finland so it is a bit save here and there living, but also still quite comfy and on some months i have more to use when i cut down on right expenses but i'm still occasionally knees deep in shit. I'm still not sure will the unemployment support money be completely cut off if i don't go to some forced job thing eventually after even more time than this, hardly i think i can start basically retirement already if i don't find a job i want myself or truly have found a way to make money from home which then is taxed and i lose support money from government but rely on the support of people. Now i rely on government. So succeeding on music business nowadays is difficult, but not completely unheard of, yet unlikely. I just hope i won't have to go into some labor crap i hate to do, only to live which i then hate anyway, even more so than now i hate living, with just minor depression of loneliness and stress about financials and my future so it is a bit grim huh.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me on sites
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Bandcamp box logo
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page